Stephen King: Hates Stephenie Meyer, Loves J.K. Rowling

After reading this article of Stephen King praising J.K. Rowling and slagging off Stephenie Meyer, I have to say, I became rather more positive about the state of the world.

To make sure I would stay happy forever, I was cheered by this article that had a poll between Harry Potter and Twilight, and Harry has over three quarters of the vote.  I have to admit that I was worried that people would forget just how great Harry Potter was now that it is all finished and dusted, and with the Twilight series still very much in the lime light.  But I needn’t have worried.  Not to mention that the quarter of people that voted for Twilight are probaby fourteen year old fangirls.

The human race.  I have faith in you yet.

5 Responses to “Stephen King: Hates Stephenie Meyer, Loves J.K. Rowling”

  1. ChungChungXavier Says:

    Hi ! Nicola ! :> :> :>

    Nice to read your updates . :> :>

    Hope that you wouldn’t consider me a reviled person .

    I NEVER pretend that I were a 100% sweetheart nor would I sugarcoat things to an unreasonable degree.

    Trust me . The human race can be VERY UGLY and I DO talk too ghetto sometimes .

    Anyway , back on topic , to be honest , I detest BOTH Harry Potter and Twilight .

    Never understand their appeal anyway .

    How about that “Chinese Swans” book ????
    Have been longing to read your review.

    There are 2 more books that I would recommend you to read and IMHO , they are just AMAZING.

    “Desert Flower” written by Waris Dirie
    “Memoirs of a Geisha” written by Arthur Golden

  2. I am still in the queue for the ‘Swans’ book! It’s quite popular in this country, apparently. 😀 (I order my books through the library).

    I’m sorry that you do not like Harry Potter. Truly. I can understand why both series are appealing to certain people, but knowing the appeal of Twilight does not make me like it. It’s a matter of taste. I do not mind people liking Twilight, but when they proclaim it to be great writing, or the best book ever, I have to protest! There is a post in this blog somewhere of me slagging the series off (Shockingly Terrible Books?) but I wouldn’t say anything against my dear Harry Potter. ❤

    I don’t know what you mean by the beginning of your post? I didn’t make any judgements of you at all. 🙂

  3. Oh Nicola, I am so glad that there are two other people in the world who thinks that the Twilight thing is AWFUL (almost as awful as Eat, Pray, Vomit… I mean Love, but let’s not go there).

    My faith in the world is slowly being restored. If Stephen King likes Harry Potter better than Twilight… ’nuff said.

  4. naomijones Says:

    Personally I don’t really see what’s wrong with either series. I’m a fan of both Twilight and Harry Potter for different reasons.
    Twilight, mainly because I’m a ‘hopeless romantic’ as I’ve been categorised by various friends and I’m a fan of vampire novels (except Dracula, I don’t really like the style of writing) and movies and always enjoy looking at different interpretations of the vampire.
    Harry Potter it was one of the first books that started my love of reading, the Prisoner of Azkaban being my favourite, although the series is one of the main modern offenders in giving a rather cliched view of the witch.
    To be honest I’ve always been more of a fantasy fan than anything else. To me, I guess the appeal lies in preferring fantasy to reality.

  5. Stephen King is a dumb ASS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

