Nicola’s Top Ten Christmas Songs

10. Band Aid – Do They Know It’s Christmas
We speak of the original of course.  I don’t know which is worse, the second or the third, but regardless, this one is brilliant.  For me, it’s not even that it’s for a worthy cause, it’s that it’s actually quite good!  The “FEED THE WORLD” chorus has a kind of sing-a-long-in-the-car element to it.  Sadly it’s a bit preachy, but the song is laced with so much nostalgia and Christmassy feeling that I can actually ignore the message in the song.  Happy days.

9. Kate Bush – December Will Be Magic Again
It’s just different, isn’t it?  I love her bizarreness and this track sounds like something Danny Elfman composed.  The atmosphere is great and the chorus has that eerie sense of magic to it (no pun intended).  It’s not like you can dance or jump to it, but you can watch Kate Bush being a bit of a freak, and that’s why we love her.  Or I love her, at least.

8. Jona Lewie – Stop The Cavalry
I have some strange compulsion to squat up and down to this song.  It takes conscious effort not to do it.  The guy reminds me of Johnny from Grease 2 and his hair is wild.  It’s fantastic.  The guy doesn’t even sing, he just drones on and on in a morbid bubble – why is it then that it’s just so damn fun?  Who knows.

7. The Darkness – Christmas Time (Don’t Let The Bells End)
Once you get over Justin Hawkin wearing creepy laced up trousers, wearing glitter and looking every inch the paedophile (i.e. taking glam rock to its extreme), you may actually like the song.  I don’t know whether it just reminded me of all the older types of Christmas songs back in the 70s, but the song comforts me.  It fits.  It makes sense.  It brings the fun back in Christmas.  The music industry has become far too serious as of late, and this is the latest “fun” Christmas song that has been released.  More!  More, I say!

6. Frankie Goes To Hollywood – The Power of Love
Oh, look, I know.  It’s not officially a Christmas song.  I mean, it talks about vampires and everything, but the tenuous link I’ll give is that the music video is completely about the birth of Jesus, it’s on every Christmas compilation ever made, and it was released around Christmas.  That’s more than enough, isn’t it?  Anyway.  I LOVE this song.  It’s creepy, but romantic – I get the sense of a starry night, some spirits… and stuff.  It reminds me of everything that is NOT in the video basically.  Oh, the video sucks so bad.  I try not to watch it.

5. Mike Oldfield – In Dulci Jublio
FUN!  I don’t know if I imagined it, but I swear this song is in the film The Snowman when the boy and the snowman dance.  I might be my distant childhood memory that is misleading me, but in any case, if I could dance (which I most certainly cannot) this is what I’d dance to.  How anyone can hear this and not want to jig to it is beyond me.

4. Roy Wood With Wizzard – I Wish It Could Be Christmas Everyday
This song gave birth to Christmas Time by The Darkness.  But this one is still better.  It’s a classic.  It’s pure get-off-your-arse-and-jump-around (for jumping is all I can do).  It’s also easy to mime along with the band, because they themselves are not very skilled at it.  This is the best glamrock song of all time.  Easily.

3. Chris De Burgh – A Spaceman Came Travelling
This song has it all.  I have always been impressed with the lyrics of this song.  I love the alternative story of the birth of Jesus.  It’s just adorable.  The song proclaims to ‘hear the most lovely music’ when the chorus comes along, and I must agree.  It’s one of those songs where you stop and listen to the narrative.  Beautifully creative.

2. Gregorian – Peace On Earth/Little Drummer Boy
I tend not to like the standard Christmas songs, such as this one, and ‘Silent Night’ etc.  But any song done by this group is fine by me.  I’m not too much into Christmas albums, but when Gregorian released one I absolutely fell in love with it.  Not one bad track.  This is my favourite track from the album, and I’ll put it here as a representative.  Amelia Brightman (stage name Violet) features and lifts the song up to its full potential.

1. The Pogues and Kirsty Macoll – The Fairytale Of New York
I do not mean to be predictable, but this really IS my favourite Christmas song.  The slow melody that plays at the beginning is just beautiful, and then the song gains another layer with the jiggy happy music when Kirsty comes in.  What other Christmas song says ‘You scumbag, you maggot, you cheap lousy faggot, happy Christmas your arse, I pray God it’s our last’?  This song has so much in it that it completely depends on what mood you are in as to what you make of it.

One Response to “Nicola’s Top Ten Christmas Songs”

  1. I have been playing the Gregorian album (which you kindly bought me) all this week Nic, it’s wonderful!! Love your comments on your Top Ten albums! xx

Leave a Reply

